Frequently Asked Questions
When do classes begin?
Classes begin the first Tuesday of every calendar quarter (March, June, September and December).
How long is the program?
The program is nine (9) months long, consisting of three (3) semesters, and requires a student to clock 1500 hours, and complete all practical applications required by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
How much does the program cost?
The Texas Class A Barber training program costs is $7,500.00.
How do I pay for the program? (This payment information is for Self-Pay students only.)
$100.00 Non-Refundable Enrollment Fee is due at the time of registration.
$2,675.00 Due the first day of class.This includes: $2,000.00 for toolkit, uniforms,
books, student permit, and pictures, as well as $675.00 for the first
Remaining $4,725.00 Tuition Payment Plan
Seven (7) payments of $675.00 due no later than the 10th day of the current month.
NOTE: If tuition is not paid by the 10th day of the month, the student will not be permitted to clock in.
Three (3) payments of $1,575.00 may be made. The first payment is due 30 days after the start date of class, then 30 days thereafter until paid in full.
Full balance of $7,400.00 may be paid on the first day of class.
Payment Methods:Check, Credit Card, Debit Card, or Cash
NOTE: Currently financial aid is not available; however, eligible students may apply for Veterans Education Benefits and Department of Rehabilitated Services (DARS) Benefits. OG’s School of Hair Design (OG’s) has a VA Education Advisor on staff that is available to students who enroll.
What does the cost of the Texas Class A Barber program cover?
TDLR Permit and Rule book, tool kit, tuition fees, instructional materials, two (2) uniforms, two (2) photos, and two (2) name badges.
What happens when I complete the Texas Class A Barber training program?
You will be eligible to take the written portion of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation(TDLR) Texas Class A Barber Examination after completing 1000 classroom hours with passing grades; and the practical portion of the examination after the completion of the program at 1500 classroom hours. You must pay a licensing fee to TDLR prior to submitting for an exam. Once you pass the TDLR examination, you will be licensed by the State of Texas as a Class A Barber. NOTE: The fees for each of these exams are not covered by program costs paid to OG’s School of Hair Design.
Thank you for your interest in OG’s School of Hair Design.